Book Review : The Story of a New Name – Elena Ferrante


The Story of a New NameThe Story of a New Name by Elena Ferrante

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I generally tend to devour books, but this one devoured me. Elena Ferrante’s writing captivates, engrosses, absorbs, consumes, devastates and satisfies. Not a single free minute has been spent on anything but reading this second volume in her Neapolitan Series these past 4 days.

While it was easier to take sides in the first book, in this one, I constantly aligned and realigned myself first with Lenu and then with Lila, reaching a point where both exasperated me and I wanted nothing to do with either. But just like Lenu is bound and drawn to Lila, I was so embroiled in their lives and it was impossible to abandon reading until I was finished.

Lila’s actions repeatedly evoke the ‘she brought this upon herself’ feeling – with little or no sympathy (yet). For Lenu, I feel like I want to shake her up, snap her out of her constant need to compare herself to her childhood friend, and always find a way to undermine her own achievements even when she’s done much better than her. At this point, it is difficult not to care, not to be involved.

I’ve put it much to simply to be fair to the expansive layers that come through from all that takes place in this young adult, extremely turbulent period of their lives, where they ought to have had a more sorted existence, and yet managed to create a tangle of complications in trying to create that ideal life that has been their sole aspiration since childhood.

View all my reviews

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Book Review : The Story of a New Name – Elena Ferrante

  1. I recently finished the 4-set series and blogged about it. Loved them all, especially the first. What an amazing author.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Binny says:

      Just read your post on the series. Completely agree on a mini series on these. Especially since the characters are so clearly listed at the start of every book.
      I had thought I would give my marathon reading of the first two books a break, but i’ve already given in to the third one this morning on my way to work 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. rishi says:

    I am really impressed with the author now, have to read one asap for sure! Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

