The 2016 Compulsive Collector’s Reading Challenge


I’ve already set myself a challenge to read 30 books this year (last year I managed 27). But the real challenge I’m setting for myself is to complete this target by reading from the books I already own.

Like most book lovers, I love to collect books – to be surrounded by books on my shelves, in my bag and in my iPad. I labor for hours online, reading several reviews and book lists to find the in best crime, thriller and contemporary fiction, and discover the most interesting true life, historical and autobiographical non-fiction. And while I keep hoarding this absolutely great stack of books (which I also fondly gaze at everyday), whenever I need to pick one to read, I almost always choose a completely new one, that was never even a part of this pile. I am greedy like that, yes. I only seem to want more and I never want to share! ๐Ÿ˜›

Having 10 unread books sitting in my book rack already, and 44 others in my iPad, did not stop me from bringing 15 more into my heart and home from the Delhi World Book Fair this weekend. Though I will say that I got these at throw away prices and at least I am not guilty about spending the month’s salary on them!

books1

So with that firm resolve, here’s my 2016 Reading the books I own Challenge.

Indian History

  • White Mughals
  • The Blood Telegram
  • Delhi: A Novel

Non Fiction

  • Geisha
  • Daughter of China
  • The Book of General Ignorance
  • Gangs
  • The Girl with 7 Names
  • Quest

Fiction

  • The Seventh Secret
  • Behind the Beautiful Forevers
  • That Thing Around Your Neck
  • Jailbird
  • 14 Stories that Inspired Satyajit Ray
  • Americanah
  • The Accidental Tourist
  • Snow Flower and the Secret fan
  • Kafka on the Shore

Crime / Thriller

  • American Assassin
  • Naoko
  • Salvation of a Saint
  • The Case of the Missing Servant
  • K is for Killer
  • The Beautiful Bureaucrat
  • Red Queen
  • Six of Crows

Classic / 18th Century

  • The Mayor of Casterbridge
  • Wolf Hall
  • Bring Up the Bodies

Graphic Novel

  • Fun Home

books2

And that’s it!

I will be workingย really really hard to stick to this list. I’m sure I’ve missed a few interesting ones, but if I ever want to switch one around, I promise to switch it with one from my existing stack only. Wish me luck!

Do you have a compulsive book collection condition too? I’d love to hear how you deal with it. Until then, Happy Reading!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “The 2016 Compulsive Collector’s Reading Challenge

  1. Oh yes. You have no idea,dude. I have thousands and thousands of ebooks, and still, I can be accused of hoarding a couple hundred more every few weeks. At one go. Yes. I am that crazy. And I finish a couple of books a day during holidays. And even then I have more unread ones than the ones I have read. Obviously. So, you could say that I have an obsessive compulsive book hoarding syndrome. Or whatever it is that you that.๐Ÿ™ˆ
    By the way, how’s the world book Fair? I plan on visiting sometime this week. Just can’t decide on a day yet. But gotta visit atleast once,no,seeing my love for reading,and books?*sheepish smile*

    Like

  2. Rishi says:

    Lovely post; true in every which way! I feel like taking all these books ๐Ÿ™‚ Lovely collection. And the challenge is a REAL one for sure! Let us see how you fare at the end of the year. All the best ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Binny says:

      Hahaha… Thanks! But you have a very considerable and enviable collection of your own! Only, you’ve mastered the discipline of adding more only after reading everything. So I hope to take that as inspiration. Let’s see!

      Like

  3. jaihog says:

    I am joining you too Binny..:)..already started with my first book of the year..The Accidental Tourist…and also have an eye on some of the books i will read from your awesome collection…lets see how many i can read this year..;)

    Like

    • Binny says:

      Good to see you here finally! And great start to the year with The Accidental Tourist. I’ll eagerly wait to read a review on that! You should set your target at 5 more than what u read last year ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. Hey! Iโ€™ve been following your blog and Iโ€™d like to nominate you for the Liebster Award! The award is designed to help people to discover new blogs and to strengthen the blogging community. If you would like to take part then you can find all the information about the nomination here: https://thebookorchids.wordpress.com/2016/01/27/the-liebster-award/#more-354. My 11 questions for you are located at the bottom of this page. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Binny says:

    Thanks! Will send in my answers too! All the best ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

